Guide dog Training Day 24 – A dip in confidence

I had to attend a meeting at work this morning so my instructor decided to watch me do the route to work. this Jasmine did well apart from one or two minor errors, and a bit of prompting over the radio by the instructor to enable me to get jasmine to find a drop kerb to cross a road.

I walked home again after the meeting unobserved and things all seemed to go wrong. We missed the drop kerb on the way back so had to re-trace our steps to find it. Then jasmine followed an incorrect straight line which I guess was an easy mistake to make. she did this by remaining too far over to the left on the pavement.

Once I brought her back to where she should have been we had a right turn to do and a walk down a road with loads of wheely bins out. I walked into a couple and then Jasmine tried to take me up a driveway. it was almost as though she was not wanting to keep the straight line. I really didn’t feel very confident in her at that point.

Once we got to the final road crossing and this road, she was fine again and arrived home with tail wagging. I think she recovered from the upset more quickly than i did.

I discussed the walk with my instructor over the phone later in the afternoon and she was very reassuring. she told me not to dwell on it and that she could still see me and Jasmine going a long way together.

we’re going to do more work on that route tomorrow.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

