guide Dog Training Day 22 – Qualified!

I wondered if I was being followed by more than my instructor this morning when I did the block route around the shops again and wasn’t given any help when I passed a crossing by mistake and was left to sort out the error myself. I did this successfully and the walk went very well after that. when I got home the District Team manager was there with the paperwork for me to sign, so jasmine is now officially my guide dog. We are limited on where we can go at present but that is the same with every new dog, and there is still more training work to do this week. The nice thing though is that I can go out with Jasmine unaccompanied which I’m sure will help both her and my confidence.

So a big thank you to all at the East Midlands team, and particularly to my instructor. If you’re reading this, you know who you are!

I probably draw too much from significances, but there’s a good one today. Jade qualified on the 14th of February and retired on the 14th of November. Its now the 14th of December, Jasmine’s qualification date.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to guide Dog Training Day 22 – Qualified!

  1. congratulations
    as i said in my text earlier, the hugest congratulations to you, i’m so pleased you qualified and those dates will stick in your mind forever.

  2. fleurette67 says:

    Well done you!
    Hi Mel! Congratulations to you for being qualified as Jasmine’s new owner today! It’s interesting that you can qualify without completely finishing your training, but maybe that happens every time: I don’t know, having never been a guide dog owner. You could say that 14 is a lucky number for you when it comes to guide dogs, with Jade qualifying on 14 February and Jasmine qualifying on 14 December, although of course 14 November may well be a slightly sad anniversary from the point of view that this was the date Jade had to retire after working with you for so many years. Once again, I wish you and Jasmine all the best- for your future working partnership together!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Congradulations!
    Congrads from Jess in Aus, you defintely deserve it.

Leave a Reply

