Guide Dog Training Day 19 – Considerable Improvement

My plan today was to do my first walk then have one of those “I’m-very-concerned-about-this-dog” chats with the instructor on our return. However, I took Jasmine out with a radio again and did the block route with the shops that we’d started yesterday. she did it brilliantly. Only making one or two minor errors which are consistent with a young inexperienced dog. She slowed at the park entrance but didnt refuse it, and she was fine crossing the last two roads.

when we got back my instructor said that we would leave it at that to end the week on a high. She decided not to come into the house so that in effect, Jasmine didn’t see her at all today, we had our post walk chat in the street with a cup of coffee!

I seem to remember that on previous classes, i’d have been qualified by the end of week three, so am slightly disappointed that week three has come and gone and I’m still not.

not sure if this is because of our working standard or whether classes are now just taking longer with the new system of hotel then home training.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guide Dog Training Day 19 – Considerable Improvement

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Gla dthings are still improving
    Hi Mel! I’m glad to read here that, in spite of your disappointment that your current guide dog training course isn’t going to end in week 3 as past courses have done, you can still report progress when it comes to working with Jasmine. I hope she will continue to work well, and to improve too, as she gets more experienced. All the best to both of you!

  2. Anonymous says:

    a comment from a friend of kay’s with first dog
    Hi Mel,
    I’m Jess, and discovered your LJ through Kay’s. I hope you don’t mind me commenting here.
    I’m glad to see Jasmine is improving, and to your question in your previous entry regarding if you’ll win, you will. I thought that with Astra when I first got her too, particuarly seeing as it was my first dog and I have this really soft voice, but nearly 10 months on w’ere going marvelously. It also took us longer to qualify, but that was due to my spacial awareness in a new area than Astra’s work. I do sympathise with your frustration however.
    Here’s wishing you the best of luck.
    Jess.

Leave a Reply

