Guide Dog Training Day 18 – Just when you think You’re Getting Somewhere …

this morning it was off with the radio again. I worked jasmine to the end of this road where I met the instructor. We then did a round the block route with Jasmine on the lead, taking in a few shops and coming back past Sainsbury’s. I worked her home the last couple of roads that she has already done. She did refuse once but the pavement was fairly obstructed near the entrance to the park. jasmine was a little reluctant to cross the last two roads on the way home and I just had this feeling that she would sooner or later refuse them.

bless her, she didn’t prove me wrong. After a break we did the same walk again although I worked her this time. She did brilliantly in the more crowded parts apart from frightening one poor woman by walking me right up behind her.

once we got back to the park entrance, I got Jasmine past with her only slowing rather than stopping. I really thought I’d cracked it until we got to the next road where she refused this time, causing me to miss a gap in the traffic. A passer-by then helped me across the road, so Jasmine had no choice but to follow me. she then refused at the bottom of this road and I had to step out without the handle to make her go again. then to cap it all, she stopped and had a wee half way up the pavement!

with all my dogs I’ve been tested, but I can honestly say that none of them have done it as constantly as Jasmine is doing.

I will win! … will I?

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guide Dog Training Day 18 – Just when you think You’re Getting Somewhere …

  1. you’ll win in the end
    hugs hun you’ll win in the end, i have every faith in you.

Leave a Reply

