Guide dog Training Day 17 – Radios

As arranged, the instructor dropped the harness and a two-way radio outside my house this morning then melted into the background out of the line of sight of Jasmine. I was asked to do the route to work and back and if necessary, if Jasmine put the anchors on again, I was advised to walk with the cane for a short way making Jasmine walk with me then try again with the handle. This was to enforce the fact that if she stops when not required to and refuses to go on, this will not be tolerated and the walk will continue.

So off I set feeling like a right idiot with my fluorescentSam Browne belt with radio clipped to it and cane hanging out of my pocket.

the walk to work went very well, a good standard of work although perhaps a little more tension than I’d like. when I got there, the instructor came over the radio asking me to go into work for a few minutes in order to give Jasmine a bit of incentive to do the route in the future. well that’s the reason she said. Personally I think it was to make me go in there all trussed up with training paraphernalia! naturally I got a ribbing when I went in! I looked like a traffic warden they said and wanted me to go out there with fake parking tickets! I guess it could be fun.

The walk back was also good with nothing to report. We had a short break then went to our local Sainsbury’s and back, again with the radios. The walk there was fine but on the way back there were one or two people distractions and Jasmine started refusing. I didn’t get as far as having to use my cane, a few steps forward and a firm voice seemed to do the trick each time. she really played up at the bottom of this road and pulled over onto some grass. A firm correction made her sit up and listen I feel and we got home with no intervention from the instructor and in safety.

For whatever reason, I feel very emotionally and physically tired today.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guide dog Training Day 17 – Radios

  1. Anonymous says:

    mel, i’m not surprised.
    hi mel. i’m not surprised you feel emotionally tired today, i think i would have been that way if i was training with a dog who is mucking you about like jasmin seems to have been these last few days. i hope all goes well with the next few days, and Jasmin realises who’s boss.

    • Re: mel, i’m not surprised.
      hi mel, it’s bigpawedbear off twitter. hmm, my username on livejournal is dobbinzookeeper, but when i tried to log in with that, it all went anonamous on me, so the above comment is all penned by my own fair paw. *smile*

  2. hugs
    i’m glad to see the walk went well, if not with a few distractions! huge hugs for you, hopefully a real one soon.

Leave a Reply

