MRI Scan

Had to have an MRI scan today as a precautionary measure to ensure that there’s nothing drastic going on which would be causing my migraines. I was absolutely dreading it as I’d heard of people not being able to tolerate being in the scanner and even needing sedation.

I arrived at the MRI department in plenty of time and was called in fairly quickly. I was surprised to be taken back outside and up some steps into something I can only describe as a trailer. Metal steps leading into a small room with a lot of engine noise! After filling out a short questionnaire and removing everything metal, I was taken into an inner room where the scanner lurked like a malevolent beast, ticking and chugging ominously.

I lay on a bed that had a slight moulded area for my head and a wedge to put my knees over. It seemed very narrow and I felt slightly vulnerable with my elbows sticking out! A kind of plate, a bit like an Xray plate was then put in front of my face in some sort of frame to keep it there, and strangely enough, when I did actually go into the scanner, I felt in a small way protected by this frame. I was given a pair of very large headphones to wear to protect my ears from the noise, the bed was raised and slid back into the scanner. At which point the radiographer, or whatever these people are called, left the room. The headphones were playing Smooth Radio but it was too late to do anything about that by then! A voice then cut over the radio and told me the scan was about to start.

it was certainly loud, with a fair few changes in pitch and at times some chugging and juddering, but it wasn’t really that bad once I was in. I can’t say how long I was in there except that about four songs were played on the radio with the chat between them.

I bought some Rescue Remedy before I went today and used it. not sure if it helped or not, but I got through it!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MRI Scan

  1. pauraque says:

    My girlfriend recently had to have an MRI to diagnose the cause of her hearing loss, and she absolutely hated it. I’m glad it didn’t seem that bad to you, and it’s over!

Leave a Reply

