Guide Dog Training Day 11 – working Hard and Playing Hard

This morning it was off to victoria Centre in Nottingham which is a fairly large indoor shopping centre. We walked the length of the upper level, went over a bridge across a road, came down, crossed back over the road and walked back the length of the lower level. Jasmine was very highly strung when I started her off, but she soon realised that I wasn’t going to let her go flat out and she worked brilliantly. I only brushed two or three people on my right and who’s to say they were looking where they were going! jasmine was so positive and certainly seemed to take notice when I did have to correct her. We had a coffee in a cafe on the way back and she settled down very quickly.

this afternoon we took the dogs up to the kennels where they have a paddock for free running. We ran them in pairs and jasmine ran with her friend Pedro who allowed Jasmine to bully him ceaselessly. I do wonder what it’ll be like when I eventually introduce Jasmine to jade as they’re both dominant little madams and I think fur will fly while they sort out which positions they hold in their pack!

Home tomorrow at last. I’m off now to have a drink with some of the class.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guide Dog Training Day 11 – working Hard and Playing Hard

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Glad your last day of training went well
    Hi Mel! I’m glad to read here that your last day of guide dog training went well. I very much hope that Jasmine and Jade will get on excellently together when they meet up, but in the meantime I wish you and Jasmine all the best as you start working together now that the training has finished.

Leave a Reply

