Guide Dog Training Day 8 – A Full On Day

Its 9:30 in the evening now and we finished working about half an hour ago. Its been a long, fairly mixed day today. Our first walk was around North Sherwood Street in Nottingham with some busier conditions for the dogs to work and many more distractions. I was largely left to my own devices and at times I didn’t feel that jasmine was concentrating very well. I also felt that she was challenging me a bit which is bound to happen. That was followed by a talk on dog welfare and health, and lunch with jasmine in attendance for the first time.

this afternoon we did the dreaded traffic work. A member of Guide dogs staff driving a car close to us to enforce the dog’s response to unexpected or misjudged traffic. Jasmine did well with that. Its a difficult area to work on as it has to be so controlled. Following that we had another talk, this time on dog behaviour. I learnt that Jasmine is probably a more dominant dog with both other dogs and with the handler. I was pleased to hear this as I had certainly asked for this type of dog.

We then had a short break, followed by our evening meal and then a night walk. no real difference for me than a walk in the daytime, but an opportunity to work the dogs in training at night.

So, a 12 hour day with very little in the way of breaks. Jasmine is spark out at my feet now and I don’t think I’ll be far behind her.

the other thing I learnt today is that Jasmine’s birthday is 29th of december when she will be two years old.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guide Dog Training Day 8 – A Full On Day

  1. oh wow
    oh wow, north sherwood street, fairly close to us! it was good seeing you on all in play earlier, i hope the rest of training goes well and not long until frieday hun.

  2. fleurette67 says:

    What a busy day you had!
    Hi Mel! I don’t envy you, having a twelve-hour day of guide dog training yesterday. I’m sorry that Jasmine’s concentration wasn’t always very good when you were out on a busy road, but I’m sure that will improve with practice: I’m glad she’s still working well otherwise, both in the daytime and at night. All the best for your continued training with her, and very early happy birthday wishes to her from me too!

Leave a Reply

