Guide Dog Training Day6 – Flying Solo

I didn’t write my update last night as my partner came to visit me so we had the chance to have a meal together and catch up. More about the meal in a separate entry.

Yesterday morning we walked along mapperley Top, so more shops and distractions for Jasmine to deal with including a guy that would insist on trying to stroke her even though i’d asked him not to and explained that she was still in training! In the afternoon it was back to the obstacle course which was more complicated this time but she still managed it very well. On both walks the instructor barely used the guiding lead so I was in control most of the time. Jasmine worked well for me and I really felt that she was responding to me rather than looking for the instructor.

She was well behaved when my partner visited and seemed to like him. he was very taken with her so all is well!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guide Dog Training Day6 – Flying Solo

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Glad training’s still going well
    Hi Mel! I’m glad to read here that your training with Jasmine is still going well. It’s also good news that she’s working better with you, without looking for the instructor, and that she likes your partner. All the best to you and Jasmine for your next week of training together!

Leave a Reply

