Guide dog Training Day 7 – Rain, Rain and More Rain!

Got absolutely soaked first thing this morning when most self-respecting folk were still in their beds! Did a straight walk up Mansfield Road with lots of traffic, surface water and spray. Jasmine didn’t seem perturbed by it at all which is unusual as all my other dogs hated working in the rain. We then caught the bus back to our starting point which was uneventful except that the latest thinking amongst GDBA staff is that we take off the harness before the bus comes and get sighted assistance onto the bus! Yeah right! So i’ll be teaching Jasmine to work onto buses myself.

After a very nice pub lunch, we did some off-kerb obstacles and some work on a flight of steps. Jasmine coped well with both situations, although I think she found going up and down the same stretch of pavement with the off-kerbs a bit boring.

have had a lovely relaxed evening with my partner. Jasmine was pleased to see him but didn’t jump all over him which was great.

Over half way through the hotel stay now and the end is in sight.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guide dog Training Day 7 – Rain, Rain and More Rain!

  1. ezzie_j says:

    I’ve just left a comment to your public entry.
    That shit about GDBA has really pissed me off, but I kinda think you’re disappointed more than anything. It will be interesting what other newly qualified people say about their instructors.
    I have an american friend who trains her own service dogs. I don’t know the rules around this because I’ve never needed to know but if all goes to pot in future, its another option.
    I hate mobility instructors because there’s not even been one of them whose under feckin’ stood! Especially now I have the damned extra baggage.
    I hope the rest of your “trip” goes ok, so you can get out of that shit place and into your own home.
    Big hugs!

  2. fleurette67 says:

    Glad training is still going OK mostly
    Hi Mel! You’ve probably already read my comment concerning this decision by GDBA to expect guide dog users to ask for sighted help to get on and off buses, so I won’t repeat my rant about that here. I’m glad, however, that your training is still progressing well, including Jasmine working better in the rain than other dogs of yours have done. Not much fun walking in the rain, though, is it, whether you have a dog or not!

Leave a Reply

