Guide dog Training Day 5 – Obstacles

As far as guide dog work goes, today has been a good one. Jasmine was very responsive to me and I felt she was really tuned into me. We did some obstacle work this afternoon and she is a lovely dog to follow, taking turns very smoothly and adjusting her seed well too.

We also did some group obedience work and Jasmine was very good.

My biggest problem is still Jasmine out of harness. Although she will come to me now well enough, she isn’t really that bothered when I make a fuss of her. she’s better than she was earlier in the week though so things are without doubt improving.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guide dog Training Day 5 – Obstacles

  1. gad things are better
    hi mel good to see that things are better for you! she’ll come to like being made a fuss of in time i’m sure of it.

  2. fleurette67 says:

    Glad Jasmine’s working well
    Hi Mel! I’m glad to read here that Jasmine has been working well during your training with her. It’s also good that she’s starting to get used to you when she’s not working, although there is still some way to go before she totally accepts you making a fuss of her, judging from what you wrote here: hopefully it won’t be too long before that happens!

Leave a Reply

