Guide Dog Training Day 4 – Progressing

today has been a fairly uneventful day as far as the training is concerned. We have done two walks, including right and left turns, road crossings and sitting and standing to command whilst on the move. Jasmine is a very confident worker at the moment. The instructor was dropping right back at times and allowing Jasmine to get on with it which she did very well.

Out of harness she is still a little shy of me at times. She won’t allow me to brush her, she rolls onto her back at every opportunity. fortunatly she has a short straight coat so the lack of grooming won’t be a problem for the time being. I really think she would benefit from the old style grooming tables that we used to have at the centres instead of being brushed on the floor, tied to a drain pipe. Apart from that we have had a few games and a bit of a cuddle, so she is gradually getting more confident. Her tail is a little better today. she’s carrying it fairly low but its more or less fit for purpose, which of course is wagging!

I really am not enjoying staying at this hotel in the slightest for several reasons which I have today discussed with my instructor. She may arrange for me to travel in each day at the weekend which I feel will benefit Jasmine and me no end.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guide Dog Training Day 4 – Progressing

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Glad things are going well
    Hi Mel! I’m glad to read in this here entry that your training with Jasmine is going well so far, and that she is a confident worker, even though she can still be shy of you sometimes when she isn’t working. I’m sure it won’t be too long before she gets used to you and gains confidence about being with you but not in harness. I’m glad to hear that her tail is improving too. Sorry you don’t like the hotel, but leaving it at weekends may be a solution to that: that’s for you and the guide dog people to decide of course.

  2. hugs
    hugs sorry to hear you’re not enjoying the hotel and i do hope you get to go home at some point this weekend. huge hugs.

Leave a Reply

