Guide Dog Training Day 3 – A Mixed Bag

the last 24 hours with Jasmine have been somewhat eventful. After I’d written my entry last night I prepared to take Jasmine out to spend last thing. However, she was having none of it. She went under the desk and would not come out. Both my instructor and I tried coaxing her with happy voices but she stayed where she was. I eventually managed to get her out with the use of a food bribe and she reluctantly came with me. She slept solidly through the night but this morning seemed very subdued. Her usually waggy tail was hanging straight down and when doing obedience work she was very reluctant to sit close to me.

After observing her for a while, my instructor booked us an appointment with the vet and we took Jasmine just before lunch time. Its not obvious what is wrong with her, although her anal glands were apparently uncomfortable. alternatively it could be a bruised tail. She was given an anti imflamatory injection and since then she seems a little brighter.

We did our first harness walk this afternoon and Jasmine worked brilliantly. My instructor I think was quite relieved as it was possible that Jasmine may have not worked at all today. She’s been a lot more responsive to me too this evening although she is now flat out on her bed. Time for last spend of the day soon so we’ll see how she is tonight.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guide Dog Training Day 3 – A Mixed Bag

  1. hope she gets better
    hi mel hope she gets better and glad she’s a little brighter today! huge hugs, it must have been rather worrying.

  2. fleurette67 says:

    Hope Jasmine’s OK now!
    Hi Mel! I’m sorry to read here that Jasmine was miserable and reluctant to do much with you on Tuesday night and early yesterday, but it’s understandable, now that you know she was slightly unwell. Here’s hoping that she’s OK now! I’m glad to hear that by the end of yesterday she was working well again.

Leave a Reply

