Guide Dog Training Day 2 – Jasmine has Arrived!

This morning went very slowly knowing that we would receive our dogs after lunch. time was spent going over obedience exercises learned yesterday.

Getting your guide dog is always a slightly strange procedure. You sit in your room and the dog is brought in, let off the lead and the trainer then leaves. Jasmine arrived and initially was very happy to see me and was quite enthusiastic. However, any slight sound and she was at the door just waiting.

Since then she has been very quiet and withdrawn. A very natural reaction but one I haven’t experienced in a new dog, even though she is my fifth. The nice thing though is that whilst I’ve been sitting here at the desk she has crept underneath and is lying with her paw across my foot.

One thing I have noticed is that her house obedience, i.e. sitting and waiting at doors is excellent. she seems very bright and responsive.

So, keeping it low key and allowing her to sleep on my foot for the time being.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

