Are Blind People Incapable of Committing Crime?

Took a walk to our local Royal Mail sorting office this lunchtime. I had a feeling that one of their cards had been delivered to me last week and I’d inadvertently thrown it away so I thought I’d go and ask if they had a parcel for me as I was expecting something.

Whilst queuing a lady in front of me was unable to collect a parcel for her son as she had no proof of address on her. A quick rummage through my bag revealed that I didn’t either. No chance of retrieving my parcel today then. Oh well, I was there so could at least ascertain if the parcel was there.

When I got to the counter I explained the situation and asked if they had my parcel. I apologised for having no proof of address on me. The guy took my name and address and within a couple of minutes returned with my parcel and handed it over, no questions asked.

So I’m wondering … Are blind people considered unable to commit a crime? I could have been stealing property or even someone’s identity and he did nothing to prevent me!

Just as well really that it was simply a bit of harmless EBay shopping!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are Blind People Incapable of Committing Crime?

  1. hmm, intresting question.
    hi mel, there is a perception that blind people cannot commit crime yes, though i have heard of blind people commiting crime.

  2. fleurette67 says:

    Just another example of our so-called incapability to do anything
    Hi Mel! You’re probably right to assume, when the post-office guy let you have your parcel without proof of identity, that he trusted you because it’s believed that blind people can’t commi crimes. How was he to know that you weren’t going to become the nasty Nottingham parcel thief or something? I know very well that you are a law-abiding person, but I’m quite sure that there are other blind people out there who have committed crimes. It’s nice to think we blindles can be trusted, but isn’t this whole concept of blind people not being able to commit crimes just another manifestation of the sighted world’s belief that blind equals incapable of doing anything? I personally think it is, and I’m fed up to the back teeth of that idea that blind equals helpless! Sorry, I’m ranting in a comment on your LJ again, but the “blind equals incapable” myth always makes my hackles rise, I can tell you!

Leave a Reply

