New guide dog – An expensive commodity

Many would think that I’m referring to dog bed, food, toys, bowls, etc. yes there are all those things but there is more.

A few weeks ago I bought some winter boots. they’re great but with fairly high heels. whilst I can happily walk with an older dog in high heels, a young inexperienced dog requires its owner to walk faster and I wouldn’t want to risk tripping and compromising its confidence. So a new pair of winter shoes for work have been purchased today.

Then there’s my every day bag. At the moment I’m carrying around a handbag which I carry over my arm or in my hand. I may well need my right hand free a lot more for the new dog, so off I go to buy a shoulder bag in winter colours!

I won’t lie, its quite fun going off for shoes and bag, and at least I have an excuse!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New guide dog – An expensive commodity

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Good to be practical
    Hi Mel! Sorry to hear that you’ve got to buy new winter boots and a new handbag, not long after you’d already bought some boots, but your reasons for doing so are very sensible: expensive these items pmay perhaps be, but you’re right to get them for practical reasons.

  2. yay
    yay i’m glad you got some new boots as we were discussing the other night. my kipling bag arrived yesterday too. hugs. as i said if you need to talk in the next few weeks, i’m around.

Leave a Reply

