Dogs and Sensitivity

I wrote a piece on my Guide Dogs discussion list about how I feel I’m grieving for something that hasn’t happened yet, i.e. I’m sad that Jade is leaving but she hasn’t gone yet.

I had an Email from a lady whose response I found very helpful. Her dog had to retire due to ill health but she kept the dog for a few weeks prior to re-homing her. She cried a lot and the dog became very sensitive and eventually spent long periods of time in a separate room to her owner.

Obviously I am not judging this lady in any way. She was faced with an impossibly difficult situation which she found extremely upsetting. However, her story has made me think.

Jade is still a very happy dog and I’m fortunate that she has no health problems. It is up to me to make her last three weeks with me pleasant and happy. This story has made me stronger in myself and able to think logically about not breaking down and crying in front of Jade as much as I was doing. I’m not sure how long this new found strength will last but I’m holding out for as long as possible.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

