Shopping – A Day of Stark contrasts

this morning I went to John Lewis for an appointment with a personal shopper. This is something that I’ve never done before but I’d highly recommend it to anyone who wants some fresh ideas about buying clothes, or even just someone to help you find things.

I was looking for an outfit to wear at a wedding and a 70th birthday party this autumn. I tried on loads of different styles of dresses to start with but although we found a colour that suited me, and a dress style that suited, we couldn’t get anything that matched both criteria. So we went on to a lovely pair of wide leg trousers and eventually a purple silk blouse to go with them.

At one point I was sitting there feeling totally pampered! Wearing a robe, drinking a cup of tea, whilst the personal shopper was finding things for me to try on.

I can’t reiterate enough what a positive and liberating experience this was and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it, particularly to any blind person who finds clothes shopping difficult. it doesn’t cost anything to use the service and you are under no obligation to buy.

I then went on to Marks and Spencer. I’d seen a cardigan online and wanted to look at one before buying it. the lady who was asked to help me was bored, disinterested, and couldn’t wait to try and tell me they didn’t have it and get me out of the shop. fortunately my persistence led to the cardigan being found and I went on my way. Its a shame as I like shopping in marks and Spencer, but the customer service on my last two visits has been sadly lacking.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shopping – A Day of Stark contrasts

  1. fleurette67 says:

    What a contrast!
    Hi Mel! What a contrast there was between the assistance you got with your shopping in John Lewis and the lack of help you got in Marks & Spencer! If only the lady in Marks had been as helpful as your personal shopper in John Lewis!

  2. oh wow
    the personal shopper thing sounds brilliant. so you only get it in john lewis? hugs enjoy your holiday.

Leave a Reply

