QMC, the Stuff of Nightmares

Went for my neurology appointment at QMC today and had the usual jitters when i walked in there. Gav didn’t think it too bad as hospitals go, but for me it’ll always be the stuff of nightmares.

Seems that the most likely reason for my headaches is chronic migraine. The doctor I saw was very pleasant and spent a long time discussing it with me. he’s also going to refer me to ophthalmology to discuss the probable Charles bonnet Syndrome that I have. I’m also going to be referred for a scan as a precaution.

At least now I feel I might be getting somewhere. I have a couple of possible courses of treatment open to me so I’m feeling a little more encouraged.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to QMC, the Stuff of Nightmares

  1. yikes
    yikes to migraines, i’m glad everything is being sorted for you. huge hugs. see you soon xxxxx.

    • ezzie_j says:

      I’m glad you’re feeling more positive, and yay to treatment options!
      By the way if you need to talk I’m always around. It’ll do you good to talk to someone who knows where you’re coming from.
      If you’re ever stuck, need to ask a question or anything there is a community on LJ called . Its all people who have them.
      They’ve helped me before.
      Anyways I don’t want to overload you!
      Big hugs and see you saturday!

  2. fleurette67 says:

    Glad you’re positive in spite of diagnoses
    Hi Mel! I’m glad that, in spite of being told that you perhaps have chronic migraine, and the fact that you need an appointment with the ophthalmologist because of another problem, you’re feeling positive about your medical situation. It helps to know that the doctors have made diagnoses and will be able to treat your problems. I don’t know what Charles Bonnet Syndrome is, nor do I know whether it’s treatable, but I wish you all the best for your eye appointment, and for the scan the neurologist is organising for you.

Leave a Reply

