Holby city – another Cringe-making Blindness Story

did anyone see Holby city last night? yet another example in a story line of blind people not being allowed to make their own decisions and deal with the consequences. the story in brief as far as I watched it:

Blind woman admitted to hospital with a bad reaction to something;
Sighted husband eventually admits that she ate magic mushrooms;
Blind woman ate mushrooms so that she could see in her hallucinations;
Sighted husband says she only ate one;
blind woman eventually admits to having taken some extra;
sighted husband gets blames;
blind woman says it was her;
police and social services involved because blind woman can’t surely have been responsible.

this sort of story line makes me so angry. yet another portrayal of blind people obsessing with needing to see and being perceived as not being responsible adults prepared to take their own risks.

when will the media get it right?

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holby city – another Cringe-making Blindness Story

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Rant justified
    Hi Mel! I saw the episode of Holby City which you referred to in this here entry, so I know exactly where you’re coming from with this rant. OK, this particular fictional woman had gone blind when she was 18 if I remember rightly, so it’s quite possible that she could have genuinely wanted to see again, but I agree with you in being fed up of the media’s portrayal of blind people as helpless people. Another thing that annoyed me in this particular episode of Holby City was one of the hospital staff referring to the woman’s husband as her “principal carer”: for heaven’s sake, carers are those who look after people who are too ill or disabled to look after themselves, therefore blind people don’t need carers! Sorry, I’m ranting again, but anyone considering blind people as helpless always makes me angry, so I can definitely relate to the annoyance you’re feeling about that particular TV programme.

Leave a Reply

