In Touch

I was asked to speak on In Touch on Radio 4 this evening following a piece I wrote on the BBC Ouch message board. this was regarding network Rail’s decision to reduce station announcements at birmingham New Street station.

this will be available for the next week on the Listen Again feature on the BBC web site. I was very impressed with the piece and the comments made by other contributors. Well worth a listen.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/intouch

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Touch

  1. fleurette67 says:

    I totally agree with you
    Hi Mel! I listened to last night’s In Touch through Radio 4’s Listen Again this morning, and I totally agree with your point of view, that the stopping of station announcements will make blind people less independent. I was also glad to hear that several of the sighted travellers said that it wasn’t normal to stop the announcements in the concourse of the station. If this thing at Birmingham New Street is an experiment, which I gather it is, I very much hope, for the sake of all travellers, but especially for visually impaired ones, that the experiment will not be a long-term one.

Leave a Reply

