Medical Centre Update

I think I can probably chalk this one up as a success. Having Emailed my surgery to be told that I couldn’t have information by Email or in Braille, I did a bit of finding out.

I wrote back to them last week to tell them that many other blind people in other health authorities have information Emailed to them. I also informed the surgery of companies who transcribe material into Braille at aprice.

Finally I informed them that I was in duscussions with my solicitor about the DDA and how I am covered.

A matter of only eight hours later, the information I required was in my Email inbox.

I hate threatening people with the law. I like to think that they are more reasonable than that, but in this case it obviously wasn’t so.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Medical Centre Update

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Glad you got the info at last!
    Hi Mel! What a relief it must be for you, that, after battling with your health authority and having to prove that other blind people receive medical information by email or in braille, you could at last persuade your health authority to email important medical information to you! It’s a pity that you had to threaten them with the law and so on, but thankfully all your effort paid off in the end, and here’s hoping you’ll continue to get information by email when you need it!

Leave a Reply

