Blind People are like Dalecs, They Can’t Go Up Stairs!

That was a joke by my colleague after a call I made to the NIA, Birmingham to book tickets for the Pet Shop Boys in December.

On their website, it advises that if you have a disability, you should contact the disability line and they will advise you on good places to sit if you are blind. So I made the call.

I was told that there was nothing suitable. So I asked did that mean the gig was sold out? and I was told no. On asking why I couldn’t have any tickets, I was informed that they were high up and there were too many stairs.

The lady was fairly easily persuaded that this wouldn’t present any sort of problems but once again, assumptions are made. I appreciate people’s concern that something might be difficult, but why oh why do they just assume that I won’t be able to manage?

Oh well, tickets booked and we’ll be going. Can’t wait as I’ve always wanted to see the Pet Shop Boys!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blind People are like Dalecs, They Can’t Go Up Stairs!

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Growls to ignorant sighties yet again!
    Hi Mel! Reading this here entry made me want to put my ranting head on again: not against you, but against ignorant sighted people! How many times do we have to remind them that it’s our eyes, not our legs, which don’t function 100 % correctly? Since when have blind people been incapable of climbing stairs? Why is it that sighted people seem to think that blindness makes us incapable of doing anything? Sorry, I couldn’t resist that rant, because I find such ignorance extremely annoying. On a more positive note, I’m very glad that you managed to persuade the ticket lady that you are perfectly capable of climbing up to a high seat, and that you’ll be going to see the Pet Shop Boys in concert at last after wanting to do so for a long time.

    • melspooner says:

      Re: Growls to ignorant sighties yet again!
      I don’t mind if people think there might be a problem, its just the assumption that is made. Why don’t they just ask questions if they’re not sure, rather than just assuming and making choices for us? If I’d have been a less savvy person I could have put the phone down at that point thinking there were no tickets.

Leave a Reply

