What do you do if you Break a blind Person’s Cane?

If you trip over a blind person’s cane and break it, do you:

A. Apologise or even offer to replace it?
B. Offer to help the blind person to somewhere where they can get help to complete their journey?
Or
C. Do nothing?

Seems the majority of people would do nothing. I posted earlier in the year that my partner’s cane had been broken by someone standing on it, and this happened again at the same station, last week. Once again the person walked away with no apology or recognition of the fact that my partner was now in danger with no cane, or financially out of pocket.

Expenditure to date this year on broken canes, £70.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What do you do if you Break a blind Person’s Cane?

  1. yikes
    yikes how awful is that! i’d at least apologise and offer to replace it, some sure ignorant pigs out there.

  2. ezzie_j says:

    those telescopic ones
    DDAware are selling those telescopic canes that Gav likes. They are still £35.00, but at least you can cut out the shipping.
    As for snapping them, What a pile of utter wankers. I feel fortunate to need a wheelchair around places such as railway stations. Out of interest, which station was it?
    Hugs to both of you.

  3. fleurette67 says:

    They should at least apologise
    Hi Mel! It’s disgusting that people usually walk away after they’ve trodden on a cane and broeken it. Such people may be in too much of a hurry to hang around long enough to offer to replace said cane, but it only takes a second to say “sorry”, all the more important because I’m sure they didn’t break the cane deliberately. At least you didn’t report someone demanding why you didn’t look where you were going: that happened to me when I bumped into someone once, although thankfully in that case they didn’t break my cane.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Apologising
    Or lack of it! People think a quick grunt of “Sorry” makes up for it. I remember my ex who was a professional musician telling me about the time when some drunk leaned over him to ask stupid questions about how could a blind man play the guitar. The drunk spilt his entire pint into the mixer and amp, which cost a lot of money to replace, and meant he had to cancel several gigs. But the drunk just slurred “sorry” and staggered off. You really wonder about these people!

Leave a Reply

