Tired of Complaining

I really don’t know if I have got the energy to raise my second complaint of the week, but on the other hand, if I don’t then things will never change … Stilll waiting for a response from vue Cinemas.

I visited my doctor this morning about a long standing problem and I have been referred to the hospital for investigation. Apparently the appointment system is such now that the patient receives a letter with details on how to make the appointment at the hospital. the patient is given a reference number and password in order that online bookings can be made.

So we had the usual conversation. Can I have it via Email? No because patient confidentiality could be breached. haven’t you got someone who can read it to you? surely that is a further breach of my confidentiality?

so I went home and realised that because I wasn’t feeling well i’d forgotten the obvious. I emailed and asked if I could have the lettter in Braille. No, we don’t have the facilities. So I’ve reached a stalemate. Every suggestion I make is met with a resounding no.

whilst I was Emailing the practice, I also asked why they had done away with their paging system for calling patients in and replaced it with a visual display. As a blind person you now have no idea when it is your turn. Their reply was that they have a lot of people with hearing difficulties who were unable to use the system as it was.

OK, fair enough, and good that they have introduced a visual display, but why do that and take out the paging system? It could have worked well for people with both hearing and visual impairments.

once again, blind people have been sidelined. Once again, the assumption is that we will have someone with us and someone to read to us.

All this on the same week that RNIB are meeting with staff at Network Rail on birmingham new Street Station who have decided to stop broadcasting station announcements on the concourse to create a calmer environment.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Tired of Complaining

I really don’t know if I have got the energy to raise my second complaint of the week, but on the other hand, if I don’t then things will never change … Stilll waiting for a response from vue Cinemas.

I visited my doctor this morning about a long standing problem and I have been referred to the hospital for investigation. Apparently the appointment system is such now that the patient receives a letter with details on how to make the appointment at the hospital. the patient is given a reference number and password in order that online bookings can be made.

So we had the usual conversation. Can I have it via Email? No because patient confidentiality could be breached. haven’t you got someone who can read it to you? surely that is a further breach of my confidentiality?

so I went home and realised that because I wasn’t feeling well i’d forgotten the obvious. I emailed and asked if I could have the lettter in Braille. No, we don’t have the facilities. So I’ve reached a stalemate. Every suggestion I make is met with a resounding no.

whilst I was Emailing the practice, I also asked why they had done away with their paging system for calling patients in and replaced it with a visual display. As a blind person you now have no idea when it is your turn. Their reply was that they have a lot of people with hearing difficulties who were unable to use the system as it was.

OK, fair enough, and good that they have introduced a visual display, but why do that and take out the paging system? It could have worked well for people with both hearing and visual impairments.

once again, blind people have been sidelined. Once again, the assumption is that we will have someone with us and someone to read to us.

All this on the same week that RNIB are meeting with staff at Network Rail on birmingham new Street Station who have decided to stop broadcasting station announcements on the concourse to create a calmer environment.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tired of Complaining

  1. sorry you’re not feeling too good
    hi mel sorry to hear you’re not feeling too good huge hugs. i’d seriously consider a complaint, they’re not thinking about us at all and you’re right, things never will change.

  2. fleurette67 says:

    Rant justified. But why not get a scanner if you don’t have one already?
    Hi Mel! Once again, you have posted a rant here which I think is highly justified. You’re perfectly right, blind people are being sidelined yet again, with this whole visiting the doctor thing: I mean, if they can have a visual display for the deaf, why can’t they continue the paging system for the blind? And why can’t these people grasp the concept of an independent blind person? Talking of which, you could become far more independent when it comes to print letters and other documents if you had a scanner and an OCR program: I wouldn’t be without mine, I read lots of print mail and other stuff with it, and the only things it doesn’t read are handwritten text or coloured text on very shiny paper. If you have a scanner already, then why don’t you use it to read print letters people send you, instead of asking for special treatment? If you don’t have one, and can’t afford it, that would be something which is definitely worth saving up for, at least I think so.

Leave a Reply

