Further Thoughts on the Audio Description Scenario

I Emailed a blind friend this morning telling him about the audio description problem I have had. His response was:

“Wasn’t standing up and roaring, “this audio description is clearly run by a Stalinist dictatorship,” before launching your headset in to the crowd an option?”

He was obviously joking but it got me thinking.

If the film had packed up thus affecting everyone, people would have been angry, doing anything from tutting to shouting and demanding their money back. Children would have cried and people would have been disappointed.

But I didn’t do any of that because if I had, I’d have been viewed as an annoyance, or even worse, an embarrassment. I’d probably have been evicted from the cinema quickly and quietly so as to avoid a scene.

Why I wonder? Because for so many years, blind people were kept in the background, they were to be pitied, not included. There is still this inner feeling that I have which makes me want to blend in, even if that means not receiving the same level of service as everyone else. One day maybe I’ll lose this feeling of needing to be grateful for what the sighted world takes for granted.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Further Thoughts on the Audio Description Scenario

  1. fleurette67 says:

    You’re right
    Hi Mel! As far as I’m concerned, you have said a lot of sensible things in this entry. First of all, you’re probably right that if you had made a scene, and complained about the audio description in the middle of the film, you might have been quietly chucked out of the cinema. You’re also right to want to blend in with everybody else, especially as the sighted world’s pity for blind people is still alive and well and living in every country in the world. That’s not to say that we shouldn’t have special services, such as audio description, I think we definitely should, but those services shouldn’t be so badly run that they’re not much use, as was the case with the audio description you had in Bristol.

    • Anonymous says:

      Re: You’re right
      TRY A DIFFERENT CINEMA. QUITE A FEW HAVE REGULAR AUDIO DESCRIPTION IN BRISTOL:
      Bristol Odeon
      Bristol (Cribbs Causeway) Avon BS10 Vue
      Bristol (Longwell Green) Vue
      Bristol Cinema de Lux Showcase
      Bristol Orpheus cinema, Henleaze
      Bristol Watershed Arts Centre
      Derek, http://www.yourlocalcinema.com/ad.html

      • melspooner says:

        Re: You’re right
        thank you Derek,
        this was actually the Cribbs Causeway vue. I don’t actually live in Bristol, was just visiting. I’m now trying to find the same film audio described in Nottingham and so far haven’t been successful!

Leave a Reply

