Employing People

This is going to be a rant.

I employ various people to do things in the house. Unlike most blind people, I have no funding available to me, I pay them from my own earned income. I am on a low income with no real prospects of this increasing but consider some things worth paying for.

At the end of last week one person phoned and said they were sorry, something had come up, could they leave it for that week. Then yesterday another person texted and said that they had too much on and could they make it another day.

I’m fed up of this. Do these people think they’re coming to do little jobs for me as a favour?

The answer is no.

I’m somehow going to have to get it across to these people that they are there to provide a regular service. I deserve reasonable explanations for absence as any other employer would, and failure to provide this will, from now on contribute towards loss of regular work.

I’m blind, I’m not needy. I have high expectations of my staff and will pay them accordingly.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Employing People

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Rant justified
    Hi Mel! Your rant is totally justified as far as I’m concerned. I think you would agree with me that “something has come up” is the mother of all feeble excuses: it certainly seems that way from what you wrote here. I’m sure you’d accept genuine excuses for these people not to do their work for you, such as illness, but you’re definitely right to complain when all they can come up with to justify their absence is that “something has come up”. I hope you can get this whole thing sorted out, even if it means having some sense knocked into some of the people who work for you, metaphorically speaking of course.

Leave a Reply

