Guide Dogs Application – Second Interview

Today I had my second interview for my application for a replacement guide dog.

This interview was very dog orientated. What I require from the dog, the facilities I have for a dog, the type of environments I would be working the dog in etc. It also included the dreaded short handle walk which all guide dog owners and prospective guide dog owners cringe about. That is, the Guide Dog Mobility Instructor gives you a harness handle to hold and guides the harness to simulate how the dog would guide you. This is very embarrassing but it gives the instructor a lot of feedback on how fast you walk, how well you follow the handle and how much or little physical correction you are able to give. So unfortunately it’s a necessary evil!

I will be on the waiting list for a replacement as of the beginning of July.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guide Dogs Application – Second Interview

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Glad the interview went OK
    Hi Mel! I’m glad to hear that your second guide dog application interview went OK. I wish you all the best for all the future stages of getting a new guide dog. Happy as I know you are with Jade, she can’t work for ever, so this whole dog renewal thing has to be gone through by you, and I hope it all goes well.

  2. done that myself
    hi mel, have done the walk myself and it is indeed cringeworthy, hugs i’ll be around.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Guide dog
    I was just reading about the MEN Arena on your twitter – I was a bit surprised about their reasoning! You should maybe try contacting Guide Dogs centre about it, as they may have already had issues like this in the past and know how to resolve it!
    Good luck with your new guide dog placement. I’m a puppy walker and my pup is a year old now so will be going into advanced training once she has been spayed. I’m keeping my fingers crossed her owner will keep in touch because I will miss her a lot. She wont be ready for placement until about August I think…
    Good luck with the new dog and sorting out MEN arena!
    Kirsty x (www.twitter.com/K9_kirsty)

Leave a Reply

