The Cumberland Hotel, Harrow

Stayed at the above hotel for two nights this weekend to go to a friend’s wedding. Its part of the Best Western chain and on the whole I’d say it was very good. When we arrived, I found that our room was out in an annexe at the back of the hotel and we were taken a long way round the building to get to it. I did wonder how well we’d find main reception and the restaurant in the morning, but I always under estimate what a little star Jade is and we managed just fine.

We found out later in the day that there was a much quicker route to our room through the hotel and I wondered why we hadn’t been shown this way. I suspect it was because there were about four steps to go down and of course, we all know that blind people can’t manage steps and will die an agonising death if we so much as try!

Breakfast was excellent. it was self service but as soon as we arrived each morning there was a member of staff there to show us to a table and get us whatever we wanted. they couldn’t have been more helpful.

It wasn’t, however, the easiest hotel if you have a guide dog. They had no problem with Jade being there but I was met with the same scenario that I have experienced so many times before. As soon as you ask them where a convenient place for the dog to spend is they just clam up and say there isn’t anywhere. This is all well and good but a dog is a dog and its sure as hell going to shit! I wonder what people think we do with it.

Well this weekend someone obviously found out. One has to be resourceful in these situations and it helps to have an adaptable dog who will make the best of limited facilities. Jade’s facility turned out to be a very small raised flower bed which she used obligingly. It only had a few prickly plants in it, certainly no flowers, and it didn’t look as though it was well tended. What to do with the evidence? There was nothing for it but to bag it up and put it discretely in the corner as there appeared to be no bin that we could find. I figured that if someone came upon it, they could just lift the bag by the tied handles and drop it into a bin. On the second morning I went to place the bag with the first which had gone, so someone must have done just that!

The wedding was excellent and it was great to catch up with some people I hadn’t seen for a while as well as meting some new ones.

Congratulations and all the happiness in the world to Corie and Angus. X

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Cumberland Hotel, Harrow

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Glad about your weekend, despite ignorance
    Hi Mel! I’m glad that you had a good weekend, including your friend’s wedding. But the weird ideas some people have about the blind aren’t so good. I mean, since when has it been impossible for blind people with no additional walking disability to go up and down steps? I really wonder if some sighted people think our legs are non-functional, not just our eyes! Sorry, this LJ is for you to rant in, not me: I don’t blame you for getting sarcastic in this here entry about the steps, though! Watch out, I’ll drop dead when I go downstairs later! (Very sarcastic smile).

    • melspooner says:

      Re: Glad about your weekend, despite ignorance
      Feel free to rant in my journal any time! Lol!
      I meant to tell you before and forgot, the wedding was Caroline Stanfield’s, although she is known as corie these days. Saw a few people from school there, Nicky walker, Jo Bennett, Charmaine morby, and the real surprise was helen pring. She’s a lovely person and i was glad to sit with her at the meal.

      • fleurette67 says:

        Re: Glad about your weekend, despite ignorance
        Thanks for telling me that. When Caroline was at school, we used to call her Carrie, therefore I immediately assumed, when you mentioned Corie in your LJ, that she was a friend you had made elsewhere. I’m glad you got to see her again, as well as other ex-pupils from our long-defunct school.

Leave a Reply

