the Down Side of Summer

its a gorgeous day today. Not boiling hot but very sunny. The sort of day when people pack up the first picnic of the year and take to the countryside or the seaside. I know that tomorrow at work i’ll be regaled with stories of where people went at the weekend.

Yesterday we went shopping. a mixed experience with excellent service in some shops and very mediocre treatment in others, marks and Spencer being a surprising example of the latter.

Today I’d just love to go out somewhere. but where? yes we could go to the local park, but that’s very limiting. yes, we could get on a bus or train and take off to wherever we wanted. but as two blind people, what do we do when we get there? Once you get off the train, you could be anywhere. even getting out of the station is a challenge.

Some blind people love this type of adventure but its not for me. Even shopping in Nottingham had its stresses yesterday and I’ve ended up taking product numbers of some things because it was too much hassle to order them in store for busy staff.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to the Down Side of Summer

  1. ezzie_j says:

    hum
    I hear you there Mel, If I weren’t aching like a bitch in heatI’d wanna go somewhere too. I know its not much but you can always come round for a bit.

  2. fleurette67 says:

    I know where you’re coming from
    Hi Mel! I know exactly where you’re coming from in this here LJ entry, when you describe the difficulties in deciding where to go for a leisurely afternoon when you are a blind person. Right now it’s hard for me to travel independently, living with my parents in a village with almost non-existent public transport, but when I lived pretty independently in a town during a courseI did some years ago, I didn’t get out much on sunny days either, unless I was invited somewhere, had to go and get some course work done, or went to do a bit of shopping on my own. I know people say we should make the most of nice weather, but that’s sometimes easier said than done, especially for blind people, or people with any other disability, come to that.

Leave a Reply

