A Survey with a Difference

Tired of all of those surveys made up by high school kids?! Have you ever kissed someone? Missed someone? Told someone you loved them? Drank alcohol? 49 questions for the people who are a little older…

What bill do you hate paying the most?
Insurance. I’d rather save money for unforeseen events that need to be paid for, but that’s not possible with buildings insurance.

Where was the last place you had a romantic dinner?
Luigi’s, Arnold, Nottingham (italian)

What do you really want to be doing right now?
Getting pissed and obliterating this horrible day.

How many colleges did you attend?
Two: North London School of Physiotherapy when I left school, and RNIB vocational college later on.

Why did you choose the shirt that you have on right now?
My mother chose it for me and she didn’t comment on me looking fat in it so it must be good!

What are your thoughts on petrol prices?
Way too much tax imposed on them without giving motorists a viable alternative.

First thought when the alarm went off this morning?
“What a racket” as both alarms were going off simultaneously

Last thought before going to sleep last night?
Laughing at the thought of a Labrador stoned after stealing cannabis which happened in the book I’m reading. No I don’t go in for heavy reading!

Do you miss being a child?
I wish I could say yes, but I didn’t have the freedom which most children had back then, so the answer’s probably no.

What errand/chore do you despise?
Going to Sainsbury’s and reading the mail with the scanner. Fortunately my partner’s taken over the latter and I unashamedly let him.

Have you found real love yet?
YES, I’m so lucky.

Favorite lunch meat?
Ham or chicken

What do you get every time you go intoAsda?
I don’t go in there, but when we shop there online we always go for the good value ham and the extra special cod and prawn fish cakes

Beach or lake?
Lake as there’s no seaweed

Do you think marriage is an outdated ritual?
No, I love it when people close to me get married. Sadly it didn’t work for me which makes me afraid to try it again, and the thought of our two mothers meeting at a wedding is just too scary to contemplate!

Sopranos or Desperate Housewives?
I don’t do American TV on the whole.

What famous person would you like to have dinner with?
I would have answered Freddie mercury to this one, but obviously I’m too late for that, so I’ll stick to having dinner with my friends.

Have you ever crashed your vehicle?
Yes I wrapped myself and my bike around a lamp post, broke my teeth and nose.

Ever had to use a fire extinguisher for its intended purpose?
No. Fire scares me and I think I’d freeze on the spot.

Ring tone?
I have different ring tones for different people, but my default is Filo and Perry, Anthem.

Strangest place you have ever brushed your teeth?
I think I’m quite conventional about teeth brushing. I can’t boast anything other than at various sinks

Somewhere in California you’ve never been and would like to go?
That’s easy. Yosemite national park.

Do you go to church?
No

At this point in your life would you rather start a new career or a new relationship?
Definitely career. I wouldn’t swap my relationship for the world.

How old are you?
44

Do you have a go to person?
Yes, my partner

Are you where you want to be in life?
That’s too profound. I have a fabulous partner, a nice house and a job, but I think most of us would be lying if we said there wasn’t more we were hoping for.

Growing up, what were your favorite cartoons?
I didn’t like them. Too fast and noisy!

What about you do you think has changed the most?
Most people who’ve known me some time say I haven’t changed much. So probably the size of my waistline!

Looking back at secondary school were they the best years of your life?
No, I remember crying and saying that if school days were the best years of my life then I didn’t want any more life!

Are there times you still feel like a kid?
Sometimes, I wish more often really

Did you ever own troll dolls?
Were they those hideous things with long hair down to their feet? If so no, I could never see the appeal!

Did you have a pager?
I didn’t own one, but used one when I was on call as a physio.

Where was the hang out spot when you were a teenager?
The haha field if it was fine or the music rooms if not.

Were you the type of kid you would want your children to hang out with?
Probably. I was only vile to people if they were vile to me first, then god help them!

Who do you think impacted your life the most?
I can’t name one single person, it wouldn’t be fair.

Was there a teacher or authority figure that stood out for you?
Probably marry Kingsley, my science teacher and subsequently friend.

Do you tell stories that start with ?when I was your age??
Only to make my nieces and nephew laugh!

has no one picked up on the fact that this survey, although it says 49 questions, only has 38?

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Survey with a Difference

  1. oh wow
    hugs, oh wow, it’s good you did the survey and i never picked up on that fact, it took me an age to do it, or felt like it anyways, hugs.

  2. fleurette67 says:

    Glad you did this survey
    Hi Mel! I don’t think I’ve ever seen survey answers on your LJ before, therefore it was good to see that you answered this one. Was that because you, like me, are no longer in the first bloom of youth, as the saying goes, Anyway, I didn’t count the questions, so I didn’t spot that there were 38 of them rather than 49. Oh well, never mind, you’ve probably read my answers by now, which were hopefully reasonably interesting!

Leave a Reply

