Feeling Smug

Went down to London yesterday for my oldest friend’s hen night. Had to travel from here to Hammersmith to a friend’s house in the afternoon. this meant a bus to Nottingham station, a train to Grantham because there were no direct trains due to the inevitable holiday engineering works. Then a train to King’s Cross, followed by a tube jurney to Hammersmith, finally a bus to the friend’s house. Before i went I was incredibly nervous and had it not been my oldest friend, i’d probably have bottled out.

So glad I didn’t. I pre-booked assistance and in the main, it worked well. Apart from at King’s Cross, there was someone to meet me at every stop. Staff on London Underground were particularly helpful, one guy even took me out of the station at Hammersmith to find my bus. People were just as helpful on my return today, apart from Nottingham staff who failed to turn up but what’s new!

So am feeling quite pleased with myself tonight. The fact that I got from this house to west London without falling back on a taxi once is quite an achievement for me.

The hen night was great and it was so good to catch up with friends. Wedding’s in three weeks.

P.S. Here’s to Corrie, she’s a horse’s arse!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feeling Smug

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Good on ya!
    Hi Mel! I don’t blame you for being pleased with yourself for doing those journeys to London and back successfully, in spite of the assistance you booked not always being available! The whole thing would have been even simpler if there hadn’t been engineering work yet again. Why is it that engineering work is done in the UK at times such as Christmas and Easter when lots of people are likely to be travelling? Don’t answer that one, it’s just a question that often occurs to me! But it’s great that your trip to London and back went ahead with hardly any hitches and no need to take taxis, and that you had a good weekend in general.

  2. yay to you
    yay to you, good one mel. tell me about nottingham staff! andy’s the only good one there. always on time for your train, nice chatty person too. glad you had a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

