Maximum Tact and Diplomacy was Required!

It was all I could do not to fall out with a family member at the weekend! It highlighted just how little sighted people realise about our struggle with not having access to our own transport.

We were talking about cars and how reliant we are on them. I said that it was a real adjustment which I had to make when I no longer had access to a car after my marriage broke up. This person said she would never be prepared to go without a car for the following reasons:

She wouldn’t like to get two buses to bingo and stand about in the cold waiting for them;

She wouldn’t go out in the dark because its not safe;

What would she do if they wanted to go out for the day:

She wouldn’t be able to carry her shopping home;

Taxis are too expensive;

She wouldn’t be able to visit us because she wouldn’t use the train.

I think there were more but I can’t remember now. I said that if it came to it, she’d adjust because she’d have to, but she denied this. So I asked her, how she thought myself and my partner managed? Her reply was, “Well its different for you, you have no option!”

Exactly my point, but she clearly thought it would never happen to her and it wouldn’t because she’s not blind.

I remained well behaved throughout the conversation!!!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Maximum Tact and Diplomacy was Required!

  1. well done you
    well done you. am proud x. shame how these people are so blinkered by their own safety they wouldn’t know what to do if blindness or something else for that matter, hit them in the face.

  2. ezzie_j says:

    Not sure I’d have kept myself that cool. I happen to think that if people say stuff like that, one day something to contradict that view will happen. I hope it doesn’t for your family member,but that’s what I think.

  3. fleurette67 says:

    Good on ya, keeping so calm!
    Hi Mel! Good on ya, keeping so calm when that family member went on and on about all the reasons a car was indispensable for her. I’m not sure I’d have kept calm in that situation! I wouldn’t wish loss of sight, or any other problem which would prevent sighted people from driving their cars, on anyone, but maybe if this person couldn’t drive for a while she’d be more understanding of what it’s like for all of us who, for whatever reason, are not able to drive a car. I only wish we blind people could drive, then we wouldn’t have to pay out for taxis or public transport or depend on other people to take us places. But unfortunately that’s a wish which is highly unlikely to come true!

Leave a Reply

