Was it Help or Patronisation that led to Segregation?

Last night seven of us with varying degrees of visual impairment went to a pub for a Black Country evening which included fundraising for a cancer charity. When we got there, a table had been reserved for us but it was in a separate room where there was also a private party going on. for this reason we felt very apart from the function we were attending and despite several requests we were told that there was no space for us in the bar. I dread to think what the people whose party it was thought about having to share.

So, I can’t work this out. Were the staff at the pub being helpful and just assuming, without thinking through the scenario, that we would be more comfortable? or were they just being patronising? Especially as one of them actually said that he’d reserved that table for “the blind”. God I hate that expression.

either way, although it was nice to be out with friends, we felt very excluded from the main event.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Was it Help or Patronisation that led to Segregation?

  1. ezzie_j says:

    Yikes!
    I’d not have taken that well!
    Sorry you got stuck like that, not very nice at all! I bet the bar was nowhere near you either! Makes me sick that does.
    Hugs

    • ezzie_j says:

      Re: Yikes!
      Actually, I think I’d be writing to them or ringing them up to say oi!
      You’re a calmer person than me! I think I’d have just got my drink and gone and stood somewhere else, in an ideal world that wouldn’t happen, just makes me sick to think that someone actually thought that and reserved it so. Meh! Sorry if you weren’t anticipating a rant! Take care!

      • melspooner says:

        Re: Yikes!
        Oh I knew I could count on you for a rant! Unfortunately it is a pub that the rest of the group uses regularly, and they didn’t seem to be as affected by it as I was. maybe I’m more belligerent than they are!

      • fleurette67 says:

        Re: Yikes!
        Hi Mel! I don’t blame you in the least for ranting about this incident. After all, you wanted to be part of the main function held in the pub, not to be foisted on another group which was having their own private party in another room. However, you made it sound like the pub people must have been lying when they said there was no space in the main room: if my assumption is right, then putting you in the other room definitely sounds like a ploy to “get the blind out of the way”. I’m sure you’ll agree with me that such segregation shouldn’t be allowed: OK, blind friends may want to sit at the same table, but not separated from everyone else. We just want to be treated like normal people, and the sighted world must learn to do that.

  2. misterdog says:

    Jesus Christ, remind me not to move there kay?
    All the bullshyt you have chronicled has changed my mind about even visiting. I’ll keep in touch though:).

Leave a Reply

