sometimes I wonder … again

Just come back from taking my dog for her six-monthly check-up at the vet’s. Having got home I’m realising why so many blind people lack the confidence to go out alone.

On my way there, I was knocked into so hard that I nearly fell over, then tutted at.

Whilst I was there, I was spoken down to by the vet who didn’t know the guide dog health record book system and couldn’t possibly think that i actually knew what I was doing.

finally, on the way home, some teenaged boys kept jumping in front of me calling me a mong and a spaz.

I really try. I’m polite to people, often when they really don’t deserve it. I always try and look good, making sure I’m clean and colour co-ordinated, and I even try and folllow fashion. most of it is just so that I don’t look different in any way.

but I sometimes wonder why I bother because people will just continue to see through all the effort and get stuck on the fact that I’m blind so therefore must be stupid or an object of ridicule.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

