Sometimes I really wonder

On his way to work this morning, my partner had his cane tripped over and broken by a member of the public who didn’t see it. However, did she apologise? no. did she in any way try to help my partner? no. She screamed presumably because it had made her jump, and eventually picked up the broken bit and gave it back, acting surprised that it wouldn’t just fit back on.

I think we all realise that accidents happen, and canes get broken because of the very nature of them but the total lack of thought from the people who break them is astounding. Just an apology would go a long way to helping in his situation.

People who cut across blind people, trip over their canes and break them should bare in mind three things.

1. A blind person with a broen cane,, if in unfamiliar or busy surroundings, may not be able to proceed one step further without help.

2. The cost of a cane is upwards of £25.

3. Unlike wheelchairs, crutches, walking sticks, or hearing aids, canes are not available on the NHS and freely given out. Blind people have to pay for them.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

