Help from neighbours in Bad Weather

Went to see friends yesterday, neither of whom had been able to get out of the house since last Wednesday due to the fact that the very steep path leading to their flat was covered in ice. Having nearly not made it up there myself and having had to be pulled up by my partner, he set about trying to clear it with very inadequate tools and a lot of hot water.
Oh yes, and salt and vinegar!

After a while two other people offered help. One offered the use of a shovel and the other came along with a second shovel and help to clear the ice and snow. this was very kind of them both and much appreciated.

I just wonder though about people sometimes. Surely those people must have seen our friends going in and out at other times with mobility aids. Surely they must have seen that the path was too icy to walk on, but until my partner was out there doing it, nobody thought to help.

I don’t think that those people were particularly uncaring, I just think that no one thinks much about their neighbours any more. I asked my elderly neighbours in the week if they needed shopping when i was out at work, even though I don’t particularly like them. does that make me unusual?

My one hope is that maybe those two guys, having helped once, might help again if the weather got too bad so that my friends arent stuck in the house for days on end again.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Help from neighbours in Bad Weather

  1. ezzie_j says:

    hugs
    Just wanted to say thanks for a good day yesterday, with you two being so helpful and all. Was good to catch up again. Haven’t ventured beyond the gate yet but we shall see.

  2. good neighbour
    hi there, i think you’re being a good neighbour and me and mum were talking about that. community spirit’s completely gone. years ago you’d sweep your own path and look after the elderly, now, people don’t look and walk on by. hugs.

Leave a Reply

