A Week to Remember

This is certainly going to be a week to remember weather wise. Two significant snow-falls in the space of four days – we’re currently in the middle of the second one. More snow than we’ve seen in this country for a few years now.

At one time we all used to just get on with our lives regardless, but we’ve become so unused to it as a nation that chaos is caused as soon as there is so much as a covering on the ground. Schools close, buses and trains are cancelled and businesses close their doors early.

As a blind person, snow is probably the most difficult to navigate as all the familiar land marks are blurred and all echos are lost. Unseen icy patches are treacherous in the extreme which leads many to have to stay indoors for the duration.

On the whole I’ve been lucky. I’ve got an excellent dog who seems to know instinctively to slow for ice and so far she’s worked very well in the snow. I think this morning’s journey will be a real test for her as it is still coming down hard.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Week to Remember

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Snow here too, but no chaos!
    Hi Mel! After the various rants I’ve seen in your LJ, it was good to read a nice positive entry about the snow. I must admit that I feel the urge to rant a little, though. Admittedly the UK hasn’t had much snow for years and years, but neither has the north of France where I live: owever, schools here are still open, public transport is still running, people go to work as usual, and there are no reports of the “total shut-down” which seems to be occurring in the UK this week. I must say I’m rather disgusted by this chaos in Britain right now: it never used to happen like this, buses even ran in the blitz for heaven’s sake!
    OK, rant over! On a more positive note, I’m very glad to read that your guide dog works well in the snow, slowing down for icy patches and so on: that must make it easier for you to get around if you have to go out in this horrible weather!

    • melspooner says:

      Re: Snow here too, but no chaos!
      Haha! Yes I know I rant, but my LJ’s my little space to do so! I’m not very good at writing ordinary things and making them look interesting. I do try and write the positives when they happen too.

      • fleurette67 says:

        Re: Snow here too, but no chaos!
        Quite right too! It’s your LJ, so you can use it to rant as much as you like. But it’s good to read positive stuff in there too, as I’ve already said.

  2. hugs mel, snow here too hence why i can’t leave the house today. wow, must meet this excellent friend of yours in the near future. hugs.

  3. misterdog says:

    wow, snow and cold
    Hah and they moan and bitch about global warming… Pretty damned cold for a warming trend.

Leave a Reply

