This is for you if you like making kissy kissy noises to working guide dogs

Its amazing just how many people do this. Today I was standing in a queue in a shop and someone did it. I can’t describe the noise except that it is like a kissy kissy noise. Its used to get the attention of friendly animals.

Do it to me when I’m out and about, and I’ll ignore you. I’ll put myself, probably my back, between you and my dog, and I will make sure that my dog ignores you too.

Its damaging to a dog’s work and downright rude and ignorant to its owner.

If on the other hand, you approach me and engage me in conversation, I’ll more than likely allow you to stroke my dog and ask about it. If for some reason, usually time constraints or a problem with the dog’s work, I’d rather that you didn’t, I’ll explain it to you quietly and politely and hope that you’ll understand and not try to stroke my dog anyway!

That’s my rant of the day. I’ve been a guide dog owner now for 20 years and this behaviour doesn’t get any easier!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This is for you if you like making kissy kissy noises to working guide dogs

  1. holy crap
    awwww, holy crap how rude is that. i wouldn’t blame you for being anoyed. hugs.

    • fleurette67 says:

      Re: holy crap
      Hi Mel! I have to agree with Kay’s comment above, in spite of the fact that I have never owned a guide dog. It’s rude to distract a human from his or her work, nor would someone come up and kiss a small child without the parent’s permission, so why do people think they can distract working guide dogs by making kissy noises to attract the dogs’ attention, without talking to the owners first? You’re quite right to rant about this: I would if I was in that situation.

Leave a Reply

