Can I Ban Someone if I don’t Like Them?

Here’s a little dilemma. I run an Email discussion list called UK guide Dogs, obviously for guide dog related discussion. It’s been going now somewhere in the region of 8 years and has around 100 members. I’ve continued to run it throughout this time and no one has volunteered to help me with it.

there’s one particular guy on there who, when the list was with another group provider, was banned for being obnoxious and breaking list guidelines. At the time he made life very difficult for me amongst other list users but I held fast and it died down. the list then moved to Google and this obnoxious individual joined again. i decided to let it go and give him another chance.

The problem is, he isn’t actually breaking list guidelines. I really don’t like the guy and I don’t like the way he appears to shout people down by reiterating his point time and again, Email after email.

My gut reaction is that the list would be a better place without him, I don’t like him, its my list so I’ll do what I like. But, with the list having been going for so long, does it in some way cease to be my property? Do I have a duty towards its members, regardless as to whether or not I like them personally?

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Can I Ban Someone if I don’t Like Them?

  1. hard position
    hi mel, you’re in a really hard position and i feel for you. running a list must be incredibly hard work where you have to take others feelings into consideration. maybe post a warning to this particular individual and if he doesn’t quit what he’s doing, i’d seriously consider giving him the boot. speaking of your list, i’d love to join. hugs.

    • melspooner says:

      Re: hard position
      I wondered if it’d be something you’d be interested in with you considering going for a dog. I’ll add you to the list after the weekend if that’s OK as I’m off out soon and won’t be back till some time on Sunday. Hugs

  2. misterdog says:

    Here’s my take on the list problem. Immediately one thing jumps out at me from your post.
    “he shouts people down,” would seem to me without any prior context, to mean that he is disrespectful of points of view not his own.
    This being the case he actually depending on the nature of his posts, could be easily in violation of the respect your fellow posters rule, and his aggressive way of forcing his point of view could indeed be a violation of the spirit of the list you run.
    Cheers.

    • melspooner says:

      Thanks
      Good way of looking at this. He’s gone quiet ever since I posted this so I’ll wait till he starts again and give him a final warning!

      • vip_uc says:

        Problem group member
        It must be a hard decision for you, but if you do what seems inevitable and give this member the order of the boot, other members might be grateful. I’ve left groups because of people like that, and really it wasn’t fair that I needed to.
        The BAT!

      • melspooner says:

        Re: Problem group member
        Actually, it wouldn’t be too hard to throw this person off the group, I’d enjoy it! I just have this slight conscience which says that I have a responsibility to be fair!

Leave a Reply

