Petition – Please Sign

Petition to: make disability discrimination a criminal rather than civil issue so that police can intervene as they do with cases of racial discrimination
so that disability discrimination is finally taken seriously, finally giving disabled people equality when trying to enter shops, buses, and trains. Council
planning staff who constantly refuse planning permission for even small ramps should also be dealt with by the criminal justice system as they would NEVER
force shops to ban people belonging ethnic minorities from entering as it is illegal, but routinely force shop owners who could have a ramp to break the
law by preventing disabled people from entering. DDA is a laughing stock so needs to be enforced by the police and CPS. | Number10.gov.uk

http://petitions.number10.gov.uk/policeDDA/

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Petition – Please Sign

  1. added
    what a good one. have added my name.

  2. vip_uc says:

    Petition
    Good on yu for starting this, and I’ve also signed. The DDA was a step forward of a sort, but it doesn’t have the teeth of the Americans with Disabilities Act, which I believe is fully-fledged civil right law. All you’ve got to do then is have enough dosh to hire the lawyers!
    The BAT!

    • melspooner says:

      Re: Petition
      I can’t take the credit for starting this one, I found it on the BBC Ouch message boards. But I feel very strongly that the DDA just isn’t worth the paper its written on sometimes.

Leave a Reply

