My First complaint of 2009

Come on guys, you didn’t expect my happy positive entries to keep on coming?

I received in the post last week my replacement credit card from Egg. the current one runs out at the end of February. On Saturday I contacted Egg via their secure messaging service to ask them to provide me with the three digit security code on the back of the credit card as the scanner wouldn’t scan it.

It has taken them until today to reply. They are very sorry but they cannot provide me with the number. They do however, have a suggestion. guess what … I should find someone I trust and ask them to read it to me. If I wish to complain, I should respond to the message.

This is my reply:

***

I regret to say that I find your reply wholly unsatisfactory. I was always of the belief that the reason for having this three digit security code was to keep the card as secure as possible. this code should only be known by the card holder.

Your company are telling me to breach this security by asking someone to read this information to me. I live alone so would have to entrust a neighbour or work colleague with my card, thus potentially giving someone full access to it.

I would indeed like to register this as a formal complaint. I would respectfully suggest that the relevant personnel within your company familiarise themselves with the Disability Discrimination Act 1995. I believe that I, as a disabled person am being provided with a lesser service from your company due to my disability.

In the meantime I remain unable to use my credit card.

***

I suspect I’m not going to get very far with this one but I feel very strongly about this constantly being asked to get people to read things, as I have written about before in these pages.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First complaint of 2009

  1. fleurette67 says:

    Good on ya for complaining!
    Hi Mel! I just read about your complaint to the bank, and I totally sympathise with you: not only would you potentially breach the security of your credit card by asking a sighted person, possibly a stranger or mere acquaintance, to read the three-digit code to you, but you also quite understandably want to be as independent as possible. OK, in this case you do need help to find out your security code, but you’re right to ask the bank to tell you what it is, they can tell you the code confidentially without you having to involve a third party. Hopefully this whole thing will be sorted soon, then you’ll be able to use your credit card at last.

  2. fucking hell
    oh fucking hell. that’s just really out of order. i hate companies that do that.

Leave a Reply

