Premier Inn – first Impression and comments

Writing this entry from the Premier inn in stoke on Trent while attending a two day JAWS scripting course. I have very mixed feelings about the place, not least because I’ve had to pay an extra £10 for internet access while I’m here, just for the privilege of logging on to their wireless network!

the place is so massive and not at all personal. I’ve got one of the “Accessible” rooms. I never know why they put blind people in these rooms, but as soon as you mention the guide dog, you get the one on the ground floor. The room is massive, with a very strange walk in shower which is like a play pen, all on the level with little sides that you open up. You use the same swipe card to open the door, then to operate the lights, and I haven’t even found out how you regulate the heating, if you do that is!

dinner time was very odd too. I’m sure typical of these types of hotels during the week, but something I’m not used to. Loads and loads of single tables with people sitting at them. I really wished I could have read a book and spend half the mealtime texting.

On the plus side, the food was perfectly OK, and the staff have been very helpful, apart from the guy in the restaurant who kept asking me what sort of thing I wanted wen I asked him to read the menu. I mean, why would I want the menu read if I knew what i wanted!

the course is very good though and looking forward to day two tomorrow.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

