Being Green vs Saving Money

Just a random thought. It would seem at present that the green option is not always the cheapest option which leads to all sorts of dilemmas.

An example that came into my head today. Dog waste bags. I get through two or three of them a day! I presently have two options for obtaining these bags. Either I get them free via a family member who kindly gets them from her local council for me who hand them out for free to try and keep dog fouling down in that area. Or, I pay £1.50 for 50 biodegradable bags.

Yes guys, I use the free ones. Not without a prick to my conscience though. Surely in this day and age, environmentally friendly products should be encouraged, or maybe even subsidised? In the meantime, I’ll probably have to stick to the freebies, knowing that all my plastic waste will fill up land fills and get into the environment, causing untold damage to wildlife.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

