My Latest Letter of Complaint

This time to the Body Shop Online. The text of which is fairly self-explanatory.

***

Dear Sir,
 
I am writing about an on-going problem which I have experienced with your web
site for some time now. I am a blind person and rely on screen reader
technology to use the Internet. Your site is very easy to use, apart from a
certain page.
 
The example I have quoted to Body Shop staff in previous correspondence is the
ordering of Honey Conditioner. I am able to search for this product, select it
and arrive at the page where there are three different sizes to choose from.
Each size has a corresponding ‘add to basket’ link. However, when I select
this link, although the page refreshes, nothing appears in the basket.
 
If I attempt to order a product which does not have different size choices I
can add it to the basket easily. I therefore feel that the links on the honey
conditioner page could probably be changed easily.
 
I have asked several other users of screen readers to test this and no one I
know has been able to add this item to their basket.
 
I would be very grateful it this Email could be passed to a manager to be
addressed. When I tried to point this out to Body Shop staff previously, I was
told there was nothing that could be done and that I should use the telephone
ordering service.
 
This I believe is discrimination on the grounds of my disability. If I phone
the ordering service, I incur extra cost.
 
I would therefore like to ask how the Body Shop intends to address this as I
feel that their previous suggestion does not constitute reasonable adjustment
under the Disability Discrimination Act.
 
I look forward to hearing from you by Email at the earliest possible
opportunity and of course, if I can be of any assistance in trying to rectify
this matter, I would be only too pleased for you to contact me.
 

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Latest Letter of Complaint

  1. i agree
    i’m in full agreement with you feeling you need to complain. i would too and i’m sure it doesn’t take rocket science to correct the page. someone recommended the body shop site to me before though i haven’t investigated it fully. hugs.

  2. Anonymous says:

    accessability
    This example is actually accessible with a screen-reader. I managed to add the products with alternative volumes to the cart successfully. I had to use the virtual mouse of windoweyes to root the pointer to the curser when on the add button, then virtual mouse left click.
    There is however no excuse for using the onmouseclick command in the page code soley when the onkeydown command can be used as well, which would enable screen-reader users to access links more basically.
    All the best
    Clare

    • melspooner says:

      Re: accessability
      Thanks for that Clare. JAWS has a similar function as your Window Eyes one, but despite several people trying it, it doesn’t seem doable with JAWS. Thanks for your comments about the code though. I think it may help them if I pass it on.

Leave a Reply

