How a Positive Day can So Easily be Spoilt

Today started out really well. Day off work to go shopping! Yippee! What could be better.

My partner went to Jonathon Charles on Upper Parliament Street to kit himself out for work. Not the cheapest shop but the clothes in many instances are branded and are of extremely high quality. The staff in there were very helpful and my partner had them running around all over the place which they were more than happy to do.

In the meantime, I went to Evans on Clumber Street to buy some trousers for work. Again, I met up with a very helpful assistant and came out with the trousers plus a very nice skirt.

Once we’d finished, it was a quick trip to Pizza Hut in the Market Square as we had a 50% off voucher to spend and wanted some lunch. Again, very helpful staff. So we came out feeling very positive and relaxed having had a productive day and made our way back up to Parliament Street where my partner was due to meet someone, and I was going to catch the bus home.

And there’s where the fun started! I got on the bus with loads of bags and the dog and was offered a seat near the front. However, it was only a single seat and I knew that me, the bags and the dog, would never fit in it! So I asked if there was a double seat where I could get the dog in, and was met with silence apart from one comment from someone who suggested that the dog should stand in the aisle.

So I walked further down the bus away from the staring, and went up a step to be met with comments that ‘she’ would fall over. A man kindly pointed out a seat to me where I could sit with the dog and I sat down still hearing tutting and comments.

I eventually spoke up and said that if people wouldn’t communicate with me, I wasn’t to know what was going on, so could people please stop talking about me. All went silent. I was then left feeling small, unequal and in the wrong, and above all, resentful for having been made to feel like that.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How a Positive Day can So Easily be Spoilt

  1. ezzie_j says:

    oh fuck ’em then
    Aw damn. Got an experience a bit like that being lj’d at the moment, feel free to feel better. And like I say, fuck ’em.
    Yes, I know. I could be slightly more adult about this kind of thing, but to be frank I can’t be bothered. lol.

Leave a Reply

