Lords Disappointment

My partner who plays for Warwickshire VI cricket team, was due to play the knock-out final at Lords on Saturday. So off we went to London on Friday. We stayed at the Europa Hotel on Shepherd’s Bush Road which although very basic, was clean and cheap and the staff were friendly enough.

Had an excellent Italian meal on Friday night, unfortunately though, I can’t remember, or never knew the name of the restaurant, so can’t give it a mention here.

Anyway, back to Lords. As we arrived, the rain started and continued all afternoon. Unfortunately, no decision was made about whether the game would go ahead until 4:30, so it was a long afternoon’s wait.

The organisation at Lords could have been a lot better. There was food laid on supposedly for the players and officials, but as is so often the case at blind events, the vultures steamed in. Anything for a free lunch. People were put off the sandwiches as others were picking over them. Gross to the extreme.

As well as this aspect of the day, I also have a problem with Lords. It seems to be run by an old boy network who rate women very poorly and disabled people are off the bottom of the scale.

Blind cricketers, as far as I can tell, are not permitted to play on the centre wicket, but instead have to play on the nursery pitch. This is because they might tear up the pitch, even though they use the same equipment as sighted cricketers. Nobody seems to want to challenge this which is wrong in my opinion. I’ll be checking the facts this week as I am staying at my parents’ next weekend and they have a friend staying who is a member of the MCC and I’d love to persuade him to take this matter to their next meeting!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

