VI Cricket – Breaking the Chauvinistic Barrier

Well this is going to be a project for me and I suspect it could be long term.

Went to my first VI cricket game on Saturday for years and noticed that the chauvinistic attitude of many VI cricketers hasn’t changed much since I went many years ago, even though I believe that women occasionally appear in their teams.

Several times prior to going to the game I was asked if I would help with the teas and managed to resist this. Not once was I seen as a VI person and therefore a potential player but always as a woman and potential tea maker.

To all feminists out there, I apologise. I failed! Whilst the men were changing I went to say hello to the women as they are friends of mine, and I buttered bread! I couldn’t help it! I have principles sure, but I also like to help out my friends.

But guys, this isn’t the end of it! I’m still here. As soon as there are any training or friendly events, I’ll be there and I want a go! I may be rubbish, but on the other hand, I may just give you a run for your money!

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

