BADD – Blogging Against Disablism Day

Taken from http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/ouch/200804/blogging_against_disablism_200_2.html
Thursday 1 May is the date. Your blog is the place. Yes,
Blogging Against Disablism Day
(informally known as BADD) is back for the third year running, and disabled and non-disabled bloggers throughout the world will be posting entries on the
subject of Disablism, Ableism or Disability Discrimination. There’s no restriction, however, to what you can then post – it’s whatever style and whatever
topic you want.

I don’t normally speak out to this extent, but I am heartily sick of this country and its attitude to disabled people. The Disability Discrimination Act stinks with its “reasonable Adjustment” clauses which are just a get-out for people who consider it too expensive, or time consuming to make their services/premises accessible to disabled people.

In this country it is now unacceptable, and against the law to discriminate against other minority groups. So why are disabled people still at the bottom of the heap?

I can’t write for disabled people as a whole, but I can write from my perspective as a blind person.

85% of registered blind people of working age are unemployed.
97% of all printed material never makes its way into Braille.
95% of all printed material never makes its way in to any formats accessible to visually impaired people.

In the last year:
I’ve been turned away from two bed and breakfast establishments.
I’ve been turned away from one restaurant, with a group of friends.
My job has become more or less impossibleto do because of inaccessible software.
I have had to wait longer than other customers to get a taxi that will take me.

The list goes on. This is all part of daily life for me and most of the time I put up with it so as not to appear as though I have a massive chip on my shoulder. If you play the victim, you end up becoming the victim.

However, today’s our day. Disablism is out there. Its rife. The only thing that will turn it around is if we, as individuals, take people to court when they treat us less favourably.

One hell of a fight and one that I often shy away from, but if we don’t do it, things will never change with the law as it stands.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to BADD – Blogging Against Disablism Day

  1. Anonymous says:

    “reasonable Adjustment” clauses
    I have to agree with you on your comment Re:”reasonable Adjustment” clauses.It seems like a back door cop out loophole,that is far too often exploited.
    Best wishes
    cagga1@hotmail.com

  2. Anonymous says:

    From Sally:
    http://lifeintheshire.blogspot.com
    Fighting the Good Fight, you are right – but its tough.
    Some days I start out and say: Today I am not going to encounter anything to complain about, today I am not going to whinge. And, yes as you say, disablism is all around. Keep on fighting !

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thank you
    Thank you for speaking up. You’re right it’s a difficult battle and difficult not to be written off for having that chippy attitude.
    You got me thinking now :o)

  4. Anonymous says:

    You are right. We AB folks are clueless. Some of us (too few) are looking for a clue. And some are willing to be led to one. But I’m sorry to say that most of us actively deny the existence of clues.
    But at least you have that legislation. Here in Canada, it was promised by the winners of the last election, after 20 years of study, and I haven’t heard anything about it since our Repub – er, Conservative government was elected.
    Most of us don’t know how to make our spaces accessible for you, and many times when we try to, we do it wrong. I hope that most of us will at least learn to listen to you, so please keep teaching us. Use humour when you can, and club us when you have to. Tact and patience aren’t always enough, but I hope that your supply will be equal to the need.
    Neil in Canada

  5. Anonymous says:

    Those statistics are horrible! I had no idea.
    I’m also horrified at all the people who’ve turned down your business. I would never have imagined that, either.
    Thank you for posting this.
    — Sara (http://www.saraarts.com, http://movingrightalong.typepad.com)

  6. melspooner says:

    Thanks
    Hello, and thanks to those who commented on my entry last week. I guess we all have to keep plugging away, and hopefully I can continue to do it with humour as far as possible although there are times when things just aren’t funny!
    Take care all.

Leave a Reply

