The Thirty-Nine Steps

Went to see a stage adaptation of the thirty-nine steps last night in Coventry at the Belgrade theatre. What a complete and utter disappointment it turned out to be!

I haven’t actually read the book myself so went with a pretty open mind as to what to expect, but realised, very quickly that they clearly weren’t sticking to the story as it was clearly very funny to the audience on the whole and I know for a fact that the book isn’t a comedy.

having said that, the comedy was very low level. The jokes seemed to be largely visual and of a very unsophisticated nature. I had the impression that the actors were relying on such things as face pulling and silly actions to get their laughs.

It would seem that the only true resemblance to the book were the fact that the main character was called Richard Hannay and he came on stage and delivered a couple of lines from the book at the very beginning.

I usually love the theatre and invariably find something good in everything I see, but not last night. My advice would be, save your money, stay in with a good bottle of wine and the book if that’s the sort of book that interests you.

The best part of that play was my Magnum in the interval and leaving the theatre at the end.

About Mel Griffiths

I live and work in Nottingham, England and am blind. This blog is often centred around things that happen to me because of being blind. This is my space to write and sometimes people will disagree with what I write, but its the one place I have in which to be frank and honest. I also like to reflect on the funnier side of life from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

